Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet


Contact Details

By phone
Find the number of a specific division or office to contact them directly or call Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Nominations open for Australian of Year Awards

Grace Tame

Nominations for the 2022 Australian of the Year Awards are now open. Tasmanians are encouraged to recognise the achievements of those who inspire us and make a nomination.

In 2021, Grace Tame became the first Tasmanian to be awarded the honour of Australian of the Year, in recognition of her powerful advocacy for survivors of sexual assault.

Recognising and acknowledging the achievements and contribution of Tasmanian women is an important component towards achieving gender equality. Awarding women high profile honours and sharing their stories increases the visibility and profile of women, promotes positive role models in leadership for young women and girls, and places women’s achievements on the public record.

Promoting recognition is Priority 3 of the Leadership and Participation for Women Action Plan 2021-23.

Consider nominating an inspiring Tasmanian for Australian of the Year.  

Nominations close on 31 July 2021 and can be submitted through