Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet


Contact Details

By phone
Find the number of a specific division or office to contact them directly or call Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Norma (Lynn) Mason

Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women logo
Norma Mason

Awarded for service to Government, service to the Community

Born: 1948

Entered on roll: 2005

Born in Brisbane, Lynn Mason was educated at the Brisbane Girls Grammar School. She completed a Bachelor Degree at the University of Queensland in 1969. She married in 1974 and had three children, a son and two daughters. She and her husband began farming on Flinders Island in 1974, developing a sheep flock and harvesting abalone.

In 1978, Lyn chaired a committee that established the first playgroup on the island. She was a member of the Get A Gym Group from 1980-85, which undertook fundraising and lobbied government agencies to construct a community gymnasium on the island. Lynn has been involved in netball since 1976 and was a member of several teams, fundraised for facilities and continues to umpire games.

Lynn was elected to the Flinders Island Council in 1983 and served as Mayor from 1996-2002. She played a key role in securing community support for the 1996 agreement between the Council and the Flinders Island Aboriginal Association on the ownership and management of the Wybalenna Historic Site. As a result, Flinders Island received the Community Award at the 1997 Australian Reconciliation Convention. Lynn apologised on behalf of the Council to the Stolen Generations of Flinders and Cape Barren Islands.

Lynn has made a major contribution to protecting the environment of Flinders Island. She organised the annual Clean Up Australia Day for 10 years, is the founder of the TREE Group, which grows seedlings and plants trees on Flinders Island, and is the Chairperson of the Lice Eradication Committee of the Furneaux Natural Resource Management Association.

Lynn has been the President of the Local Government Association of Tasmania since 2000 and is a member of the Australian Local Government Association, serving as Vice President in 2001-02. Lynn was a member of the Australian delegation representing local government at the 2002 United Nations Johannesburg World Summit on Sustainable Development. In 2004, Lynn was a delegate to the 12th Session of the Commission on Sustainable Development in New York. She addressed the plenary session of the United Nations on the role of local government in environmental management.

Lynn was the national winner of the 2000 Westpac Group Business Owner Award and the Tasmanian winner of the Telstra Business Woman of the Year Awards. At the Australia Day Awards in 2001, she was presented with a Centenary Medal.

<< Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women