Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet


Contact Details

By phone
Find the number of a specific division or office to contact them directly or call Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Elizabeth (Beth) Ann Fulton

Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women logo
Fulton, Elizabeth (Beth) Ann

Awarded for service to Science, service to the Environment

Born: 27 March 1973

Entered on roll: 2011

Beth Fulton was born in 1973 and grew up on a farm near Goulburn, New South Wales. Beth’s curiosity about the natural world, combined with a keen interest in maths from an early age, led her to become the brilliant, dedicated and inspiring scientist she is today.

Beth is recognised internationally as a world leader in marine ecosystem modelling which is a relatively young field of science that she helped to conceive. Her work is based on the balanced management of fisheries and marine ecosystems.

Beth is the developer of Atlantis, an ecosystem model which in 2007 was rated by the United Nations Food and Agriculture organisation as the best of its kind in the world. Her modelling framework is the first in the world that gives equal attention to the biophysical and human components of the system, and is used by the Australian Fisheries Management Authority and other fisheries managers. Other users include universities and resource management agencies in the United States, Mexico, Canada, the North Sea, Scandinavia and South Africa. 

Beth also co-developed the InVitro modelling framework, which allows simultaneous consideration of multiple uses of the marine environment.

Beth leads a marine ecosystem modelling team based at CSIRO in Hobart. As well as supervising post-graduate students and post-doctoral fellows, Beth is an Honorary Associate at the University of Tasmania Centre for Marine Science where she lectures in the field of quantitative marine ecosystem modelling.

In 2010, Beth was awarded a prestigious Pew Fellowship in Marine Conservation. She has also been awarded: the Science Minister’s Prize for Life Scientist of the Year in 2007, the 2004 Royal Society of Tasmania’s PhD award, the 2002 Dean’s Commendation for outstanding PhD by research, and the 1997 James Cook University Medals in Marine Biology and Mathematics and Statistics.

<< Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women